Google bombing google

| 4 Comments

I just had a strange comment spam attack. 9 copies of this comment

IP Address: 205.236.34.1
Name: search engine
Email Address: google@yahoo.nl
URL: http://www.google.com

Comments:

i come from best search engine http://www.google.com

It looks to me as if someone, masquerading as a Dutch Yahoo employee is trying to google bomb google so that the search "best search engine" links to google itself. Why do this?

Interestingly, all 9 copies of the comment had the same IP address, which is not what I usually see in comment spam attacks. So maybe the spammer is an amateur or has a very small network of zombie computers?

4 Comments

On my post at http://jtauber.com/blog/2005/07/04/morphgnt_roadmap I got a comment where someone linked to Yahoo. The anchor text was "Jack" so I'm not sure what they were trying to achieve.

Well, I thought it might not be from yahoo or google but from another search engine. My investigatoin concludes that the comment span was probably done by some dogpile employee. If you want proof, go here.

click the link below.

That's not a yahoo employee...more like just a schmuck with a yahoo account. Yahoo employees have a different domain name which I won't disclose.

Books

Comprehensive coverage of Ruby 1.8 and 1.9

"The New Most Important Ruby Book"
Peter Cooper,
rubyinside.com

Completely updated for Ajax and Web 2.0

"A must-have reference"
Brendan Eich,
creator of JavaScript

The classic Java quick-reference

Advertising

Pages

Hosted By

Powered by Movable Type 4.21-en